Know Your WorldNOV 19 EDITIONTrending


1. Independence: It commemorates the country’s declaration of independence from Pakistan in the late hours of 26 March 1971 by the undisputed leader of the Nation Sheikh Mujibur Rahman.

2. Capital City: Dhaka also spelled Dacca

3. MajorCities: Dhaka North, Dhaka South, Chittagong, Comilla, Khulna, Mymensingh, Sylhet, Rajshahi, Barisal, Rangpur, Gazipurand Narayanganj

4. President: Abdul Hamid

5. Official Language: Bengali

6. Currency: Bangladeshi taka

Currency: Bangladeshi taka

7. Economy: The economy of Bangladesh is a developing
market economy. It’s the 39th largest in the world in nominal terms, and 29th largest by purchasing power parity; it is classified among the Next Eleven emerging market middle income economies and a frontier market.

8. Code:+880

Abdul Hamid :
President of Bangladesh

9. System of Law: Common Law System

10. Religion: Islam (90%), Hinduism (9%), Buddhists 0.6%, (mostly Theravada), Christians (0.3%, mostly Roman Catholics), andAnimists(0.1%).

11. System of government: The Government of Bangladesh has three branches; the Executive branch, the Legislative branch and the Judicial branch.

12. Population: Bangladesh is a large and heavily densely populated country in South Asia, bordering Burma, India, Nepal and Bhutan. Bangladesh has an estimated 2019 population of 163.05 million.

13. Bangladesh is located to the east of India on the Bay of Bengal, is a South Asian country marked by lush greenery and many waterways. Its Padma (Ganges), Meghna and Jamuna rivers create fertile plains, and travel by boat is common. On the southern coast, the Sundarbans, an enormous mangrove forest shared with Eastern India, is home to the royal Bengal tiger.

14. Sport: Cricket, Football, Hockey, Kabaddi, Chess, Swimming, Athletics and Badminton are most popular in this country.

Related Articles